NCAAB: Picks to win the 2024 Men’s Wooden Award

ncaab betting 2024 mens wooden award

Updated November 7, 2023By Chris Boline
ncaab betting 2024 mens wooden award

Who: The top four men’s players predicted to win the 2024 John R. Wooden Award

What: The 2024 John R. Wooden Award is given annually to the most outstanding men’s and women’s college basketball players

When: The 2023–24 NCAA Division I men’s basketball season will begin on November 6, 2023 and conclude on April 8, 2024 with the NCAA National Championship

Where: Various sites/cities across North America with the National Championship site set for State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona

Recognized as the top individual honor a player can receive in college basketball, the Wooden Award is given annually to the most outstanding men’s and women’s college basketball players. In this report, SBS will be going over candidates with the best odds to take home the men’s Wooden Award for the 2023-24 season. The frontrunner per multiple sites is the 2023 winner, center Zach Edey of Purdue. A towering presence at seven-foot-four, the Canadian frontcourt staple is a wrecking ball in the Big Ten. Another player to watch is Duke’s Kyle Filipowski who could be in for a huge season after he won the ACC Rookie of the Year award this past season. Rounding out the top four is Kansas’ Hunter Dickinson who just transferred from Michigan and North Carolina’s Armando Bacot, a centerpiece player for the Tar Heels. 

For this article, SBS will be breaking down each player, selecting a predicted winner for the Wooden Award, and also sharing some more notes about college basketball wagering. 

The No. 1 Contender: Zach Edey (Purdue) (Odds: +175)

As noted above, Edey is the reigning consensus National Player of the Year for Purdue and had an excellent campaign last season. Averaging 22.3 points per game, along with an astounding 12.9 rebounds and 2.1 blocks per contest, Edey was able to disrupt nearly the offense he and the Boilermakers encountered. While Purdue did come up short at the NCAA Tournament, the Canadian star was a huge reason why they were so successful to begin with. The tallest player in Big Ten history has an excellent chance to repeat this year if he can have another clean bill of health. 

Zach EdeyTo win the 2024 Men’s Wooden Award


Bet Now

No. 2 Ranked Contender: Kyle Filipowski (Duke) (Odds: +700)

A former consensus five-star recruit, Filipowski was one of the top players in the class of 2022 and is poised to become the next big star for the Blue Devils. As a freshman last season for Duke, he averaged 15.1 points and 8.9 rebounds per game and led all Division I freshmen with a sensational 16 double-doubles. The ACC Rookie of the Year, he will have to bounce back from offseason hip surgery that repaired malformed hip joints atop both legs. 

Kyle FilipowskiTo win the 2024 Men’s Wooden Award


Bet Now

The No. 3 Team: Hunter Dickinson (Kansas) (Odds: +700)

The Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 2021 and a consensus second-team All-American choice, Dickinson will be sporting a new look this year as a member of the Jayhawks. Last season for the Wolverines he put together another impressive campaign, posting averages of 18.5 points per contest along with 9.0 boards per game. Perhaps the next step in Dickinson’s evolution will come as a member of Bill Self’s squad in Lawrence. 

Hunter DickinsonTo win the 2024 Men’s Wooden Award


Bet Now

The Final Contender: Armando Bacot (UNC) (Odds: +1600)

The last athlete spotlight for our list, Bacot has been a staple of the Tar Heels lineup the past couple of seasons, and for good reason. A third-team All-American selection last year and a two-time first-team All-ACC choice (2022 and 2023), the Richmond, Virginia native is a powerful presence. After last season, he holds the North Carolina program records for double-doubles and career rebounds. The challenge for Bacot is if he can develop into a more consistent offensive threat and improve his free throw numbers (65% last season). 

Armando BacotTo win the 2024 Men’s Wooden Award


Bet Now

Prediction: Similar to the Heisman, the Wooden Award does not normally have consecutive repeat winners, but this is the year things change with Edey repeating. 

Other thoughts and info about your NCAAB wagers

Once you are all dialed in regarding the latest news and notes coming from the world of college basketball, make sure to check out all the fantastic resources for you over at SBS. Of course, for even more insights on the sport at hand, our NCAAB betting sites rundown has you covered with all the latest betting markets on the sport. On a separate note, our best betting apps guide is a must-read page for those on the go. Here you can explore more of the perks of mobile betting and all it offers. Finally, a great page to peruse if you are looking for some higher stakes betting is the VIP sports betting sites breakdown. On this page you can learn more about VIP wagering and if it is the right fit for you. 

About the Author

Chris Boline

Chris Boline

As a devout aficionado of sports, Chris Boline has carved a career within the athletic realm. A skilled scribe, he boasts a decade-long portfolio that encompasses coverage of the NBA G League, the Los Angeles Chargers, football in the Mountain West Conference, and basketball.
Beyond his professional pursuits, Chris is deeply invested in his community and dedicates his leisure hours to serving on boards, collaborating with community organizations, and cherishing the company of loved ones.

Read Chris’s Profile

Ask Chris about this guide:

Author: Richard Gonzales